Rule · CBSL · 23 Jun 2025 · Finance Business Act Directions No.01 of 2025
The Central Bank of Sri Lanka issued Finance Business Act Directions No. 01 of 2025 to establish maximum interest rate caps for licensed finance companies on deposits and debt instruments. The required rates are calculated quarterly using either the Treasury Bills Weighted Average Yield Rate or the Overnight Policy Rate, with tenure-specific ceilings detailed in regulatory tables. Effective 1 July 2025, the new framework supersedes previous circulars and allows finance companies to pay up to fifty basis points higher rates for accounts held by minors and senior citizens.
23 June 2025
GOVERNING BOARD
CENTRAL BANK OF SRI LANKA
FINANCE BUSINESS ACT DIRECTIONS No.01 of 2025 MAXIMUM INTEREST RATES ON DEPOSITS AND DEBT INSTRUMENTS
23 June 2025
5. Maximum
interest rates on deposits
GOVERNING BOARD
CENTRAL BANK OF SRI LANKA
FINANCE BUSINESS ACT DIRECTIONS No.01 of2025 5.1 deposits is not specified, shall be based on OPR and to be reviewed quarterly by FCs. Accordingly, the reference rate of OPR for the quarter will be the OPR, as at the end of the immediately preceding quarter. The maximum annual nominal interest rates that may be offered or paid by an FC on LKR time deposits and other types of innovative products for which interest is paid at maturity shall not exceed the interest rates derived in accordance with Table 1 below:
Table 1: Maximum interest rates for deposits
Tenure of the Deposit Maximum Interest Rate Per Annum 1 month and less than 3 months 91 days T-bills WAYR + 0.10% 3 months and less than 6 months 182 days T-bills WAYR + 0.25% 6 months and less than 1 year 364 days T-bills WAYR + 0.50% 1 year and less than 2 years 364 days T-bills WAYR + 2.00% 2 years and less than 3 years 364 days T-bills WAYR + 2.75% 3 years 364 days T-bills WAYR + 3.00%
5.2 Further, for LKR time deposits and other types of innovative products
for which periodic interest payments are made, the Annual Effective Interest Rates (AER) that may be offered or paid by an FC during the tenure of the deposits shall not exceed the interest rates derived in accordance with Table 1 above.
5.3 The maximum AER that may be offered or paid by an FC on LKR
savings deposits and other deposits of a tenure of less than one month or where the maturity of deposits is not specified, shall not exceed OPR.
5.4 Notwithstanding the provisions in Directions 5.1, 5.2 and 5.3 above,
the maximum interest rates payable by an FC for savings deposits of 2
23 June202S
9. Revocation of
previous direction/ circular
GOVERNING BOARD
CENTRAL BANK OF SRI LANKA
FINANCE BUSINESS ACT DIRECTIONS No.01 of 202S b) "Annual nominal interest rate" means the interest rate stated in the agreement for a deposit product/ debt instrument without compounding of interest. c) "Debt instruments" means a bond, debenture, asset backed security, commercial paper, promissory note or any other instrument used for borrowing as may be determined by the Director, Department of Supervision of Non-Bank Financial Institutions. d) "Senior citizens" means persons who are over 60 years of age at the time of acceptance or renewal of a deposit. e) "Time deposit" means any deposit accepted by an FC with an agreement to repay on/after a specified period of time. Finance Business Act (Maximum Interest Rates on Deposits and Debt Instruments) Direction No.01 of 2019 and the letter dated 18 April 2022 on the subject 'Amendments to the Maximum Interest Rates on Deposits and Debt Instruments by Licensed Finance Companies, are revoked effective from 1 July 2025. t--o~'--,,-S)-----=-----~ Dr. P Nandalal Weerasinghe Chairperson of the Governing Board and Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka 4
Note from RegAlert. AI assistants can read this document in full, and search 70,000+ more, through the RegAlert MCP connector (https://mcp.regalert.today/mcp). Free with an account. How to connect ChatGPT, Claude or Cursor.
Amended 1 time · last 2026-01-12
This document supersedes: Amendments to the Maximum Interest Rates on Deposits and Debt Instruments by Licensed Finance Companies
More like this from CBSL
CBSL published 1 document in the last 30 days. We email you each new one the day it's published.
Source: Central Bank of Sri Lanka — original document · Summary generated with machine assistance and reviewed before publication; the authoritative text is the regulator's original document. How RegAlert works
In RegAlert: added · updated